Home Forums Gamescan Chat42 About
* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search
It is currently Sat 09-22-2018 12:05AM

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Thu 01-22-2009 1:56PM 
Offline
Lieutenant General
User avatar

Joined: Fri 09-05-2003 10:24AM
Posts: 3588
Location: Oklahoma! Where the wind comes sweeping down the p l a i n s !

Source: MST Wireless
I get this error only on soft reboots, and only as Windows is loading. Instead of going to the windows loading screen (the black one with the annoyingly pointless blue loading bar), i get the BSOD with the error. I suspect I have a corrupted USB driver, but I am not sure how to diagnose any further. Windows KB is useless. No cause file is named.


IRQL_NOT_LESS_THAN_OR_EQUAL_TO

0x000000d1 (0xbab3ae20,0x000000ff,0x00000008,0xbab3ae20)

_________________
Ever get that feeling of deja vu?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Thu 01-22-2009 4:20PM 
Offline
Brigadier General
User avatar

Joined: Fri 07-08-2005 7:47PM
Posts: 1106
Location: Quad

Source: Holtman Hall
Did you update any drivers recently? It's usually a driver problem, but it typically happens after a driver update. I saw you said you got a new video card, perhaps reinstall the driver?


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Thu 01-22-2009 5:28PM 
Offline
post whore
post whore

Joined: Wed 10-05-2005 7:50PM
Posts: 1381

Source: Off Campus
A slightly more technical description of what this means...

There are certain functions you can't call when the OS is in a higher interrupt level ... basically anything that could wait on something else. This prevents deadlock. When you call these functions in an elevated interrupt level, Windows freaks out and BSODs.

Anyways, the kinds of things that have access to those functions are drivers. Can you boot in safe mode? If so, do that and remove any drivers you changed and see if that clears up the problem, then try putting them back on.

_________________
I have now been banned three times. Join the club :D


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Thu 01-22-2009 11:45PM 
Offline
Lieutenant General
User avatar

Joined: Fri 09-05-2003 10:24AM
Posts: 3588
Location: Oklahoma! Where the wind comes sweeping down the p l a i n s !

Source: Fidelity
I cannot boot in safe mode. Whatever is being called is still being called when safe mode is loading. As for something new installed, I can't go by that rule, because everything is new. Motherboard, memory, Vidcard, PSU, HDD, and processor.

Also, FYI, the error did not show up until I installed SP3. The reboot after that installation and every soft boot since has led to the same BSOD. There is the remote possibility that that is just coincidence, and that I didn't reboot until that installation took place, but I doubt it, and cannot remember for sure.

_________________
Ever get that feeling of deja vu?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Fri 01-23-2009 12:21AM 
Offline
post whore
post whore

Joined: Wed 10-05-2005 7:50PM
Posts: 1381

Source: Off Campus
Wait... so you put all of the new hardware in, successfully booted an old install, then installed sp3 and now it's freaking out? You might try doing the repair install on the XP disk - it will overwrite your current Windows directory and you'll lose stuff like your start menu I think, but you'll keep all of your data.

_________________
I have now been banned three times. Join the club :D


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Fri 01-23-2009 8:27AM 
Offline
Lieutenant General
User avatar

Joined: Fri 09-05-2003 10:24AM
Posts: 3588
Location: Oklahoma! Where the wind comes sweeping down the p l a i n s !

Source: Fidelity
No, I replaced the harddrive too. Brand new fresh install of Windows XP (student edition SP2). None of my old stuff is connected except for the DVD-R and the case it is built in (excluding peripherals like monitors, mice, keyboards, etc.).


If I were to do a repair install, how would I get to it? I have tried to find something like that, but ASR (automated system recovery) wants a boot disk, and the recovery console isn't very useful. Is there another option further down the installation like that I haven't gotten to yet?

_________________
Ever get that feeling of deja vu?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Fri 01-23-2009 3:16PM 
Offline
Corporal

Joined: Mon 09-25-2006 10:22AM
Posts: 7

Source: Beta Sigma Psi
my solution is put leopard on it


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Fri 01-23-2009 3:47PM 
Offline
Drowning
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-15-2004 9:36PM
Posts: 4952
Location: ~~~~\o/~~~~~

Source: Off Campus
LOL

_________________
Rolla survivor

Join us in IRC, irc.seek42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Sat 01-24-2009 1:47PM 
Offline
Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-20-2006 5:50PM
Posts: 711
Location: the darkest pits of hell

Source: Somewhere On Campus
breadoflife13 wrote:
my solution is put leopard on it


yeah, that's the OS my toaster runs on

_________________
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is."


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Sun 01-25-2009 2:55PM 
Offline
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Mon 08-15-2005 3:43PM
Posts: 195

Source: Fidelity
I remember back in the day getting a lot of IRQL's due to bad ram

And actually, I fixed someone's laptop that would only do it on reboots from within windows by replacing one of his sticks of ram. The ram would memtest fine if it was a normal boot but if it was restarted from within windows it flipped out hard


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Mon 01-26-2009 6:07AM 
Offline
Lieutenant General
User avatar

Joined: Fri 09-05-2003 10:24AM
Posts: 3588
Location: Oklahoma! Where the wind comes sweeping down the p l a i n s !

Source: Fidelity
After letting the system run for about a week, I am only showing 3325MB of ram when is should be 4096MB. I am going to chalk it up to bad ram, and RMA this shit.

_________________
Ever get that feeling of deja vu?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Mon 01-26-2009 7:23AM 
Offline
Drowning
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-15-2004 9:36PM
Posts: 4952
Location: ~~~~\o/~~~~~

Source: Off Campus
is it 32bit xp?

_________________
Rolla survivor

Join us in IRC, irc.seek42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Mon 01-26-2009 5:42PM 
Offline
bertowned
bertowned
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-20-2006 4:26PM
Posts: 2118

Source: Off Campus
What lostboyz is getting at (but didn't really explain) is that a 32bit windows xp can't use more than 3.3ish GB or ram. I don't think Vista 32bit can either, but they released an update to allow it to at least display 4gb in system properties. A quick google search turned up a better explanation than i could give off the top of my head. I highly doubt this is a ram issue. If you think it is, just take out all but one stick, and try each stick, and each slot - to make sure you don't have dead memory, or or a dead part on your motherboard.

_________________
BigPeeOn wrote:
Here's the deal: chemistry is the devil.
Anything beyond balancing an chemical equation is black magic.


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Mon 01-26-2009 6:29PM 
Offline
Major General
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-14-2005 8:36PM
Posts: 2169
Location: in a Google Fiberhood. Suck it bitches!

Source: Fidelity
amd2800barton wrote:
What lostboyz is getting at (but didn't really explain) is that a 32bit windows xp can't use more than 3.3ish GB or ram. I don't think Vista 32bit can either, but they released an update to allow it to at least display 4gb in system properties. A quick google search turned up a better explanation than i could give off the top of my head. I highly doubt this is a ram issue. If you think it is, just take out all but one stick, and try each stick, and each slot - to make sure you don't have dead memory, or or a dead part on your motherboard.

It's any 32 bit OS. The maximum amount of memory that a 32 bit OS can address is 3.3GB and I think that the Vista 4GB thing is w/ some paging hacks or something like that, I can't remember the specifics.

_________________
They let us play with markers, but i keep trying to draw infinity


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Interesting Stop Error in Windows XP
PostPosted: Mon 01-26-2009 9:10PM 
Offline
post whore
post whore

Joined: Wed 10-05-2005 7:50PM
Posts: 1381

Source: Off Campus
Physical Address Extension (PAE) allows a 32 bit OS to address more than 3.3GB of ram - each individual process still faces the 3.3GB limit, but as a whole, the OS is capable of using more than 3.3GB.

Dunno if 32bit XP or Vista implement this though...

_________________
I have now been banned three times. Join the club :D


Top
 Profile  
    
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group