Home Forums Gamescan Chat42 About
* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search
It is currently Thu 07-27-2017 8:50AM

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dual 30" monitors with resolution problem
PostPosted: Tue 07-13-2010 9:21AM 
Offline
Colonel

Joined: Sat 04-29-2006 8:47PM
Posts: 663

Source: Off Campus
I have zero experience with workstation PCs but one of my coworkers who is a PCB designer just got a new work station with 2 30" Dell monitors. Their native resolution is 2560x1600 and her video card is a NVidia Quadro FX3450/4000 (dunno which but thats what the driver identifies it as). The OS is Windows XP x64. I think the PCs were 'designed' and ordered by a guy who wasn't the most informed about computers and just wanted bigger monitors, but he doesn't work in the dept anymore.

She is only able to run one monitor at up 1920x1200 while the other is at 2560x1600, but not both at native res. I don't know if this card can't handle the resolution needs, there is a driver issue (she was running 72.13 and is now running 268.xx [the newest driver]), or a problem with Windows XP.

Anyone have any advice or experience?


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Dual 30" monitors with resolution problem
PostPosted: Tue 07-13-2010 10:38AM 
Offline
Major
User avatar

Joined: Fri 09-14-2007 3:47PM
Posts: 437
Location: Just behind your left shoulder

Source: Off Campus
dar9q7 wrote:
(dunno which but thats what the driver identifies it as)
If you really wanted to find out, go to the properties of the display adapter in device manager, click on the Details tab, make sure you're looking at Device Instance Id, and take the VEN_XXXX and DEV_YYYY (where XXXX and YYYY are hexadecimal numbers) over to some place like this and search (preferrably by device ID, using the vendor ID to confirm a match).

dar9q7 wrote:
I think the PCs were 'designed' and ordered by a guy who wasn't the most informed about computers
Whoa... you work for Apple?!

dar9q7 wrote:
She is only able to run one monitor at up 1920x1200 while the other is at 2560x1600,
If she disables one of the monitors, can she crank the single monitor left up to its native res?

If you can find out exactly which card she's got (e.g. using the PCI device ID like I mentioned above), you can always look up the specs/limits of the card, but it does indeed sound like you're trying to output more than what that card can handle.


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Dual 30" monitors with resolution problem
PostPosted: Tue 07-13-2010 11:51AM 
Offline
Colonel

Joined: Sat 04-29-2006 8:47PM
Posts: 663

Source: Off Campus
10DE and 00CD says that it is a NVIDIA Quadro FX 3450/4000 SDI chipset.

Apple... no.

I don't know where to look to find limitations for that chip. But yes when running only one monitor, native resolution is availiable.


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: Dual 30" monitors with resolution problem
PostPosted: Thu 07-15-2010 1:32PM 
Offline
Colonel

Joined: Sat 04-29-2006 8:47PM
Posts: 663

Source: Off Campus
Any idea where to find limitations?


Top
 Profile  
    
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group