Home Forums Gamescan Chat42 About
* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search
It is currently Sat 10-31-2020 9:44AM

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Fri 03-05-2010 10:01AM 
Offline
BLITZVERPWND
BLITZVERPWND
User avatar

Joined: Wed 09-16-2009 6:52AM
Posts: 608
Location: in your 802.11g stealing your internetz

Source: IT Dept
Gyration Remote - $29.99

I know I'm always douching on and on about my HTPC remote, but this one is actually a good deal, just doesn't have the on-remote LCD which is utterly useless.

_________________
Queue42 - Advanced Direct Connect over SSL
Preconfigured Client -- 64 bit StrongDC++ 2.42
Preconfigured Client -- 32 bit StrongDC++ 2.42
Linux and Macintosh, Eiskaltdc++, then adcs://hub.queue42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Fri 03-05-2010 12:44PM 
Offline
Major General
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-14-2005 8:36PM
Posts: 2169
Location: in a Google Fiberhood. Suck it bitches!

Source: MST Wireless
Thought this was waaaayy better than that fugPOS that LB got http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/05/rii- ... t-your-wi/

_________________
They let us play with markers, but i keep trying to draw infinity


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Fri 03-05-2010 6:51PM 
Offline
Drowning
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-15-2004 9:36PM
Posts: 4953
Location: ~~~~\o/~~~~~

Source: Off Campus
I guess, we will see when it gets here. The one I am getting has a much bigger trackpad, which was a big annoyance on that logitech one thats out there

http://efo.buy-lowest.com/index.php?mai ... cts_id=180

for those that don't know what I'm talking about. Every review I have seen says its perfect for htpc. I also got a remote that came with tv-tuner card for more of the media type functions

_________________
Rolla survivor

Join us in IRC, irc.seek42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Fri 03-05-2010 8:32PM 
Offline
BLITZVERPWND
BLITZVERPWND
User avatar

Joined: Wed 09-16-2009 6:52AM
Posts: 608
Location: in your 802.11g stealing your internetz

Source: VPN
blitzvergnugen wrote:
Thought this was waaaayy better than that fugPOS that LB got http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/05/rii- ... t-your-wi/

the guy doing that demo is such a tool. it always blows my mind how people have time to do shit this or like unwrap their new console/gadget and post it to youtube...

_________________
Queue42 - Advanced Direct Connect over SSL
Preconfigured Client -- 64 bit StrongDC++ 2.42
Preconfigured Client -- 32 bit StrongDC++ 2.42
Linux and Macintosh, Eiskaltdc++, then adcs://hub.queue42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Fri 03-05-2010 8:35PM 
Offline
BLITZVERPWND
BLITZVERPWND
User avatar

Joined: Wed 09-16-2009 6:52AM
Posts: 608
Location: in your 802.11g stealing your internetz

Source: Off Campus
LostBoyz wrote:
I guess, we will see when it gets here. The one I am getting has a much bigger trackpad, which was a big annoyance on that logitech one thats out there

http://efo.buy-lowest.com/index.php?mai ... cts_id=180

for those that don't know what I'm talking about. Every review I have seen says its perfect for htpc. I also got a remote that came with tv-tuner card for more of the media type functions


touchpad < gyro + accelerometer

it's like using a magic wand that you point at the screen and the mouse obeys. Honestly, I would use both if I had them. I'm looking for a keyboard as well.

_________________
Queue42 - Advanced Direct Connect over SSL
Preconfigured Client -- 64 bit StrongDC++ 2.42
Preconfigured Client -- 32 bit StrongDC++ 2.42
Linux and Macintosh, Eiskaltdc++, then adcs://hub.queue42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Fri 03-05-2010 8:44PM 
Offline
Drowning
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-15-2004 9:36PM
Posts: 4953
Location: ~~~~\o/~~~~~

Source: Off Campus
exactly you don't have a keyboard, at least mine can do everything

and I also got a nice media center remote that came with the tuner card, so not like you need to point at anything anyway. start media center and use the arrows like a normal set top box.

_________________
Rolla survivor

Join us in IRC, irc.seek42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Fri 03-05-2010 9:25PM 
Offline
Major General
User avatar

Joined: Mon 08-08-2005 5:09PM
Posts: 2336
Location: STL

Source: Off Campus
Yours might have everything but its fugly as shit. An important part of product design is aesthetics.

Image

_________________
"This is not my sig", it said. - I looked at it suspiciously; Who's sig was it, then?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Fri 03-05-2010 9:57PM 
Offline
Drowning
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-15-2004 9:36PM
Posts: 4953
Location: ~~~~\o/~~~~~

Source: Off Campus
i don't really care, functionality wins

_________________
Rolla survivor

Join us in IRC, irc.seek42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Sat 03-06-2010 3:03AM 
Offline
bertowned
bertowned
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-20-2006 4:26PM
Posts: 2118

Source: Off Campus
LostBoyz wrote:
i don't really care, functionality wins


oh that explains why Apple sells so many computers *rolls eyes*

_________________
BigPeeOn wrote:
Here's the deal: chemistry is the devil.
Anything beyond balancing an chemical equation is black magic.


Top
 Profile  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Sat 03-06-2010 10:46AM 
Offline
BLITZVERPWND
BLITZVERPWND
User avatar

Joined: Wed 09-16-2009 6:52AM
Posts: 608
Location: in your 802.11g stealing your internetz

Source: Fidelity
amd2800barton wrote:
LostBoyz wrote:
i don't really care, functionality wins


oh that explains why Apple sells so many computers *rolls eyes*


QFT

_________________
Queue42 - Advanced Direct Connect over SSL
Preconfigured Client -- 64 bit StrongDC++ 2.42
Preconfigured Client -- 32 bit StrongDC++ 2.42
Linux and Macintosh, Eiskaltdc++, then adcs://hub.queue42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
 Post subject: Re: HTPC remote
PostPosted: Sat 03-06-2010 3:18PM 
Offline
Drowning
User avatar

Joined: Sun 08-15-2004 9:36PM
Posts: 4953
Location: ~~~~\o/~~~~~

Source: Off Campus
amd2800barton wrote:
LostBoyz wrote:
i don't really care, functionality wins


oh that explains why Apple sells so many computers *rolls eyes*


I think this argument is reversed. Mine is cheap and not pretty and absolutely does the job. Apple products are expensive, pretty, and is debatable whether its more functional or just more user-friendly.

_________________
Rolla survivor

Join us in IRC, irc.seek42.net


Top
 Profile E-mail  
    
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group